Pages Menu
Categories Menu
Fernandez de Oliveira and Ballesteros, winners of the South American Amateur Open 2022

Fernandez de Oliveira and Ballesteros, winners of the South American Amateur Open 2022

The Argentinian Mateo Fernández de Oliveira and the Peruvian Daniela Ballesteros were crowned this Saturday as the new winners of the South American Amateur Open, competition that concluded at the Quito Tennis & Golf Club in the Ecuadorian capital.

Fernández de Oliveira shot 277 (-11), with Segundo Oliva Pinto, his partner in the Arkansas University, in second place two shots back. Chilean Clemente Silva, with 283 (-5), was third. Ballesteros, in the women’s competition, counted 287 (-1), 4 shot away from the Mexican María José Martínez. Colombian María José Bohórquez, the defending champion for the week, finished third at 293 (+5).

The South American Amateur Open was organized by the South American Golf Federation and the Ecuadorian Golf Federation, with the support of The R&A.

Fernández de Oliveira, a key player of the Arkansas University team, demonstrated why is the best South American amateur player of the moment, adding the title that was missing to his record in the region after obtaining the medals and trophies in all the competitions on South American, including the South American Junior and the ‘Copa Andes’ since 2015.

Ballesteros became the second player from her country to win this title, behind Lucía Gutiérrez in 2014. The player from the Country Club de Villa course in the south of Lima started her junior year in the team of the Purdue University, consolidating after this triumph as one of the best players in her country.

The 16th edition of the South American Amateur Open concluded with this list of winners, a contest that despite the complications derived from the COVID-19 in the region, was finally carried out with the support not only of the golf authorities in the region but also of the Quito Tennis & Golf, which is already the conformed host of this championship in January 2023.

Winners of the women’s competition