Pages Menu
Menu Movil/Mobile

South American Amateur

For many years, the calendar of activities of the South American Golf Federation (FSG) included only team championships. However, as an initiative of the Executive Secretary of the FSG, was considered essential to have an individual championship which has the aim to identify and reward the best amateur player in the South American golf.

The Individual South American Amateur Golf Championship began in Guayaquil on 2006 under the Match Play format. After four years of success, the championship got extended to more amateur players from other regions and the game form at change to 72-hole stroke play

The calendar requires that the host course should rotate between all South American countries and preferably should be complete during the first quarter of the year.

The tournament field consists of two categories, ladies and gentlemen amateur players from each of the affiliated institutions to the South American Golf Federation, and players from countries invited by the organization that meet the requirements and the Status of Amateur player dictated by the R&A

Edition Host Women Champion Men Champion
2018 Buenos Aires (ARG) Milagros Chavez (PAR) Chris Crisologo (CAN)
2017 Buenos Aires (ARG) Isabella Fierro (MEX) Paul Chaplet (CRC)
2016 Lima (PER) Sofía García (PAR) Juan Álvarez (URU)
2015 Lima (PER) Sofía García (PAR) Scott Harvey (USA)
2014 Barranquilla (COL) Lucia Gutiérrez (PER) Paul Howard (ING)
2013 Bogotá (COL) Brooke Henderson (CAN) Callum Shinkwin (ING)
2012 Cali (COL) Delfina Acosta (ARG) Jorge Fernández (ARG)
2011 Bucaramanga (COL) Manuela Carbajo (ARG) Franco Romero (ARG)
2010 Bucaramanga (COL) Juliana Murcia (COL) Tomas Cocha (ARG)
2009 Sao Paulo (BRA) Paz Echeverría (CHI) Tomas Cocha (ARG)
2008 Santiago (CHI) María Yacamán (COL) Christian Espinoza (CHI)
2007 Lima (PER) Martina Gavier (ARG) Esteban Martínez (ARG)
2006 Guayaquil (ECU) Paola Moreno (COL) Sebastián Saavedra (ARG)
[/tabcontent] [/tabs]